In The Spirit Of Crazy Horse

Front Cover
Random House, Jul 31, 2012 - Fiction - 688 pages
21 Reviews

On a hot June morning in 1975, a shoot-out between FBI agents and American Indians erupted on a reservation near Wounded Knee in South Dakota. Two FBI agents and one Indian died. Eventually four Indians, all members of the American Indian Movement (AIM) were indicted on murder charges, Twenty-two years late, one of them, Leonard Peltier, is still serving two consecutive life sentences.

The story of what really happened and why Matthiessen is convinced of Peltierís innocence, forms the central narrative in this classic work of investigative reporting. But Mathiessen also reveals the larger issues behind the Pine Ridge shoot-out: systematic discrimination by the white authorities; corporate determination to exploit the uranium deposits in the Black Hills; the breaking of treaties; and FBI hostility towards the AIM, which was set up to bring just such issues to light.

When this book was first published it was immediately the subject of two $25 million-dollar legal actions that attempted to suppress it permanently. After eight years of court battles, ending with a Supreme Court judgement, Mathiessen won the right to tell Peltierís and his peopleís story.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: In the Spirit of Crazy Horse

User Review  - Jeff Daiell - Goodreads

Step-by-step, you follow the victimization of the American Indians persecuted by an over-bearing, out-of-control Federal Government. It really brings home the point that giving power to the central ... Read full review

Review: In the Spirit of Crazy Horse

User Review  - Zack - Goodreads

Quite simply, one of the most impacting, most rebellion affirming works of literature I have ever delved into. It lays out the wholly convincing argument that what happened on that summer day in ... Read full review

About the author (2012)

Peter Matthiessen was a naturalist, explorer and writer. His works of fiction include At Play in the Fields of the Lord, Far Tortuga and the acclaimed 'Watson Trilogy'. His explorations resulted in many fine works of non-fiction, among them The Snow Leopard, The Cloud Forest and The Tree where Man was Born. He died in 2014, aged 86.

Bibliographic information