The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell

Front Cover
Counterpoint--dist. by Publishers Group West, 1995 - Fiction - 675 pages
2 Reviews
The author of the bestselling Son of the Morning Star and Mrs. Bridge has assembled a collection of 56 stories--featuring 13 recent and 15 older stories never before published--to be released in celebration of his 70th birthday. "Connell's style is a model of economy; it reveals the care of an artisan whose works should be collected".--Time.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Short fiction is an art unto itself, more confined and thus more rigorous than the novelist's canvas. This volume of 56 stories spans a lifetime of masterly literary craftsmanship and includes 13 ... Read full review

Review: The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell

User Review  - Chrissie - Goodreads

I used to think I didn't like short stories. Then one day I realized I do like them. I just don't like them as much as novels. These are pretty good. I like that some of them were interconnected. Read full review


Nan Madol
At the Crossroads

14 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

Evan S. Connell was born August 17, 1924 in Kansas City, Missouri. He graduated from the University of Kansas in 1947. His first work, The Anatomy Lesson and Other Stories, was published in 1957. His first novel, Mrs. Bridge, was published in 1959. The sequel, Mr. Bridge, was published ten years later. In 1990, both novels were adapted into the film Mr. and Mrs. Bridge starring Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. He wrote more than 15 books during his lifetime including Son of the Morning Star: Custer and the Little Bighorn, The Patriot, The Diary of a Rapist, The Connoisseur, Deus Lo Volt!, and Lost in Uttar Pradesh. He died on January 10, 2013 at the age of 88.

Bibliographic information