The Deptford trilogy

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1983 - Fiction - 863 pages
155 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Sublimely good writing - Goodreads
... but the ending kind of petered out. - Goodreads
A wonderful trilogy, by an incredible writer. - Goodreads
It was well written, but not a quick page turner. - Goodreads
Robertson Davies is a wonderful writer. - Goodreads
A first class writer. - Goodreads

Review: The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business, The Manticore, and World of Wonders (The Deptford Trilogy #1-3)

User Review  - Kassia Holland - Goodreads

The interweavings of man, myth, magic, and religion. Although the story develops over a wide range of place and time, the pacing is perfect for creating a natural sense of continuity. The complexity ... Read full review

Review: The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business, The Manticore, and World of Wonders (The Deptford Trilogy #1-3)

User Review  - Arthur Rosenfeld - Goodreads

If you haven't read Davies, pick up the assembled trilogy and dive in. It truly is a world of wonders. Read full review


Mrs Dempster
J Am Bom Again
My FoolSaint

10 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1983)

Novelist, playwright, and journalist, Robertson Davies is one of Canada's best-known writers internationally. He grew up in Kingston, Ontario, where he later attended Queen's University. In 1938, he received a B.Litt. from Oxford, and then joined the Old Vic Theatre Company. Returning to Canada in 1940, he served as editor of the influential publication Saturday Night until 1942. For the next 20 years he was editor of the Peterborough Examiner in Ontario, where he wrote the Samuel Marchbanks Sketches. From 1953 to 1971 he served on the board of the Stratford Festival. In 1963 Davies became the first master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto. In the 1970s Davies published the Deptford Trilogy - Fifth Business (1970), The Manticore (1972), and World of Wonders (1975). Beginning in 1981, Davies published the Cornish Trilogy - The Rebel Angels (1981), What's Bred in the Bone (1985), and The Lyre of Orpheus (1988). These novels, with their academic setting, reveal Davies's awareness of Canada's intellectual and artistic sophistication.

Bibliographic information