The Deptford trilogy

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1983 - Fiction - 863 pages
157 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Sublimely good writing - Goodreads
... but the ending kind of petered out. - Goodreads
A wonderful trilogy, by an incredible writer. - Goodreads
Robertson Davies is a wonderful writer. - Goodreads
A first class writer. - Goodreads
Good ending, though, so worth sticking with it. - Goodreads

Review: The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business, The Manticore, and World of Wonders (The Deptford Trilogy #1-3)

User Review  - George - Goodreads

I just finished The Manticore. It was enjoyable, but in a sort of time capsular way. The portrayal of psychiatrists, Jews, and other demimonde denizens is rather stereotyped. The author does play with ... Read full review

Review: The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business, The Manticore, and World of Wonders (The Deptford Trilogy #1-3)

User Review  - Rml - Goodreads

It took me a long time to get through this book, but it was an excellent one to have next to my bedside, as it consistently put me to sleep. Apologies to you who are Robertson Davies fans. I tried one ... Read full review


Mrs Dempster
J Am Bom Again
My FoolSaint

10 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1983)

Novelist, playwright, and journalist, Robertson Davies is one of Canada's best-known writers internationally. He grew up in Kingston, Ontario, where he later attended Queen's University. In 1938, he received a B.Litt. from Oxford, and then joined the Old Vic Theatre Company. Returning to Canada in 1940, he served as editor of the influential publication Saturday Night until 1942. For the next 20 years he was editor of the Peterborough Examiner in Ontario, where he wrote the Samuel Marchbanks Sketches. From 1953 to 1971 he served on the board of the Stratford Festival. In 1963 Davies became the first master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto. In the 1970s Davies published the Deptford Trilogy - Fifth Business (1970), The Manticore (1972), and World of Wonders (1975). Beginning in 1981, Davies published the Cornish Trilogy - The Rebel Angels (1981), What's Bred in the Bone (1985), and The Lyre of Orpheus (1988). These novels, with their academic setting, reveal Davies's awareness of Canada's intellectual and artistic sophistication.

Bibliographic information