The End of Nature

Front Cover
Anchor Books, 1989 - Nature - 226 pages
58 Reviews
Reissued on the tenth anniversary of its publication, this classic work on our environmental crisis features a new introduction by the author, reviewing both the progress and ground lost in the fight to save the earth.

This impassioned plea for radical and life-renewing change is today still considered a groundbreaking work in environmental studies. McKibben's argument that the survival of the globe is dependent on a fundamental, philosophical shift in the way we relate to nature is more relevant than ever. McKibben writes of our earth's environmental cataclysm, addressing such core issues as the greenhouse effect, acid rain, and the depletion of the ozone layer. His new introduction addresses some of the latest environmental issues that have risen during the 1990s. The book also includes an invaluable new appendix of facts and figures that surveys the progress of the environmental movement.

More than simply a handbook for survival or a doomsday catalog of scientific prediction, this classic, soulful lament on Nature is required reading for nature enthusiasts, activists, and concerned citizens alike.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
14
4 stars
20
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
2

Review: The End of Nature

User Review  - Michael - Goodreads

Read this one several years ago, but it's been much on my mind lately so I thought I'd put up my review. In 1988, a 19 year old me was living quite happily in a cloud of pot smoke in Orono, Maine. My ... Read full review

Review: The End of Nature

User Review  - John - Goodreads

Interesting to read this 20+ years after it was written. I'm glad McKibben is keeping up the fight. McKibben gave me a whole new perspective on humans and our relationship to nature. He had plenty to ... Read full review

Related books

Contents

A NEW ATMOSPHERE
3
THE END OF NATURE
47
A PROMISE BROKEN
95
Copyright

1 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

References from web pages

The End of Nature, by Bill mckibben
About The End of Nature, a book by Bill mckibben. ... The End of Nature may convert you, or it may infuriate you. But the world will never again look the ...
www.billmckibben.com/ end-of-nature.html

Mountain Gazette » Archives » Article » Wandering beyond the end ...
Wandering beyond the end of nature. “Wandering Home” By Bill mckibben (New ... But at the end of “The End of Nature,” mckibben acknowledges that even he is ...
mountaingazette.com/ article/ 483

Bold Type: Excerpt by Bill mckibben
The End of Nature (Bill mckibben) book cover pullquote, T he years 1981 and 1983 were very hot, .... Excerpted from The End of Nature by Bill mckibben. ...
www.randomhouse.com/ boldtype/ 0198/ mckibben/ excerpt.html

green thoughts: Bill mckibben on the End of Nature
Bill mckibben in his classic The End of Nature argues that nature has ceased to exist. As I understand his argument it goes something like this. ...
jodenbaugh.blogspot.com/ 2006/ 09/ bill-mckibben-on-end-of-nature.html

end of nature
In Bill mckibben's classic book, The End of Nature, he writes that "An idea, a relationship ... As part of the exhibition, The End of Nature, poets Nan Fry, ...
thomasdrymon.com/ nature/ eonpoetry.html

mckibben'sd End of Nature illustrates problems of artificial ...
THE END OF NATURE. Written by Bill mckibben. Random House. ... THE MESSAGE OF The End of Nature justifies its ominous title: According to Bill mckibben, ...
www-tech.mit.edu/ V110/ N19/ nature.19a.html

11.B.5 First Term Seminar Don Scheese, xt. 6087 Z56009 Confer 325 ...
THE END OF NATURE? The purposes of the course are 1) to improve your ... The End of Nature by Bill mckibben. A Writer's Reference, 2nd ed., Diana Hacker ...
www.asle.umn.edu/ pubs/ collect/ comp/ Scheese.pdf

Bill mckibben to Mark Anniversary of His Landmark Book 'The End of ...
8 (ascribe Newswire) -- What is the state of the climate crisis on the 16th anniversary of the publication of Bill mckibben's "The End of Nature," one of ...
www.collegenews.org/ x4831.xml

Organization & Environment
Translating Science and Restoring our Sense of Wonder: The End Of Nature as a ... Bill mckibben’s The End of Nature still stands as an exemplary case of ...
oae.sagepub.com/ cgi/ reprint/ 18/ 2/ 193.pdf

The End of Nature
In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Fate of the Earth, The End of Nature shakes our deepest perceptions of the world around us. ...
www.mfh.org/ specialprojects/ endsof/ books/ endnatu.htm

About the author (1989)

Bill McKibben has written several hundred pieces for The New Yorker. His writings on nature have also appeared in The New York Review of Books, The New York Times, Rolling Stone, and other national publications. He and his wife live in the Adirondack Mountains of New York.