Never Cry Wolf

Front Cover
Bantam Books, 1979 - Juvenile Nonfiction - 164 pages
32 Reviews
Hordes of bloodthirsty wolves are slaughtering the arctic caribou, and the government's Wildlife Service assigns naturalist Farely Mowat to investigate. Mowat is dropped alone onto the frozen tundra, where he begins his mission to live among the howling wolf packs and study their waves. Contact with his quarry comes quickly, and Mowat discovers not a den of marauding killers but a courageous family of skillful providers and devoted protectors of their young. As Mowat comes closer to the wolf world, he comes to fear with them on onslaught of bounty hunters and government exterminators out to erase the noble wolf community from the Arctic. "Never Cry Wolf" is one of the brilliant narratives on the myth and magical world of wild wolves and man's true place among the creatures of nature. "We have doomed the wolf not for what it is, but for what we deliberately and mistakenly perceive it to be -- the mythological epitome of a savage, ruthless killer -- which is, in reality, no more than the reflected image of ourself." -- from the new preface to "Never Cry Wolf."

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Never Cry Wolf

User Review  - Silvio111 - Goodreads

I remember knowing about this book in the early '70s. (It was published in 1963.) I think I may have even read it, because for years I remember feeling sympathetic to the author, Farley Mowat. I just ... Read full review

Review: Never Cry Wolf

User Review  - Caroline - Goodreads

I remember the movie Never Cry Wolf from late elementary school. I don't remember why we were shown it; I don't remember studying wolves at all, but I do remember watching and enjoying the movie ... Read full review


The Lupine Project
Wolf Juice
Happy Landings

22 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1979)

Farley Mowat's nearly forty books have sold millions of copies & have been published in more than twenty languages. His books include "Never Cry Wolf", "Sea of Slaughter", "The Farfarers", "People of the Deer", "The Dog Who Wouldn't Be", "The Desperate People", & "Ordeal by Ice". He lives in Ontario, Canada.

Bibliographic information