The Ruins of Gorlan

Front Cover
Penguin, 2006 - Juvenile Fiction - 249 pages
40 Reviews

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past?the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger's apprentice. What he doesn't yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Xleptodactylous - LibraryThing

Pug is an orphan-sorry, WILL is an orphan-and he lives in Crydee-sorry, GORLAN-and he is awaiting the choosing of the apprentices from the youth of the populus. Pug, I mean WILL, wants to be a warrior ... Read full review

A Highly Recommended Series

User Review  - C.Mouse - Borders

I picked up the Ranger's Apprentice Ruins of Gorlan on a whim about a year ago and was completely hooked. I even managed to get my dad hooked on the series in fact he has now officially passed me in ... Read full review

All 12 reviews »

Contents

PROLOGUE
1
1
5
2
13
3
21
4
27
5
33
6
42
7
47
18
127
19
133
20
140
21
146
22
153
23
166
24
177
25
186

8
55
9
64
10
71
11
77
12
85
13
91
14
98
15
106
16
112
17
121
26
193
27
201
28
209
29
216
30
224
31
232
32
237
EPILOGUE
243
1
257
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger's Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Bibliographic information