Arabian sands

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1991 - Travel - 347 pages
20 Reviews
The record of his extraordinary journeys through the parched 'Empty Quarter' of Arabia. 'Wilfred Thesiger is perhaps the last, and certainly one of the greatest, of the British travellers among the Arabs . . . The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life' - Sir John Glubb in the Sunday Times. 'Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Doughty, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, it is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia' - Lord Kinross in the Daily Telegraph.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: Arabian Sands

User Review  - aizaz - Goodreads

probably this book is my first travel reads and i must say i thoroughly enjoyed it. i was able to connect with what Wilfred Thesiger sought and how satisfying the quests were. the book in a way is ... Read full review

Review: Arabian Sands

User Review  - Amy - Goodreads

Thesiger isn't a wordsmith, but he sure can wax lyrical about sand and camels. Usually I'm skeptical of the "white dude realizes his culture is superficial/grossly consumeristic and seeks ... Read full review

Contents

VI
17
VII
39
VIII
54
Copyright

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1991)

Thesiger is a writer, explorer and naturalist. He is a legendary figure forever associated with the mystique and magnificence of the Arabian Sands.