Arabian sands

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1991 - Travel - 347 pages
134 Reviews
The record of his extraordinary journeys through the parched 'Empty Quarter' of Arabia. 'Wilfred Thesiger is perhaps the last, and certainly one of the greatest, of the British travellers among the Arabs . . . The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life' - Sir John Glubb in the Sunday Times. 'Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Doughty, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, it is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia' - Lord Kinross in the Daily Telegraph.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
59
4 stars
44
3 stars
25
2 stars
6
1 star
0

Review: Arabian Sands

User Review  - David - Goodreads

Interesting. Not the best travel writing I've read (Snow Leopard, Roads to Sata), but an insight into a world that I suspect is vanishing. Read full review

Review: Arabian Sands

User Review  - David - Goodreads

Interesting. Not the best travel writing I've read (Snow Leopard, Roads to Sata), but an insight into a world that I suspect is vanishing. Read full review

Contents

VI
17
VII
39
VIII
54
Copyright

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1991)

Thesiger is a writer, explorer and naturalist. He is a legendary figure forever associated with the mystique and magnificence of the Arabian Sands.