Hand Me Down

Front Cover
Dutton, 2012 - Fiction - 311 pages
3 Reviews

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookworm_naida - LibraryThing

Hand Me Down was a difficult and emotional book to get through. At the heart of this novel is fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid who is trying to survive as best she can in the dysfunction she is being ... Read full review

Hand Me Down

User Review  - Joy Humphrey - Book Verdict

Having survived for years living with an alcoholic father, 14-year-old Liz and her younger sister, Jaime, must now endure life with their mother's new husband, Terrance, a sex offender just out of ... Read full review

About the author (2012)

Melanie Thorne earned her MA in creative writing from the University of California, Davis, where she was awarded the Alva Englund Fellowship and the Maurice Prize in Fiction. She lives in northern California.

Bibliographic information