Augustus: A Novel

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Mar 25, 2009 - Fiction - 336 pages
250 Reviews
A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power–Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony–young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fantastic writer, little work but all good. - Goodreads
Sort of boring but good character development. - Goodreads
I´m ending by giving four stars to the book. - Goodreads
The writing is impeccable, and the wisdom is profound. - Goodreads
A most unusual piece of writing. - Goodreads
The language and imagery c - Goodreads

Review: Augustus

User Review  - Edward - Goodreads

Before AUGUSTUS, I had read both of Williams' other books, STONER, about the life of a college English professor, BUTCHER'S CROSSING, about an failed buffalo hunting expedition, both excellent novels ... Read full review

Review: Augustus

User Review  - Charles - Goodreads

A strange telling of a story. I can't remember ever reading it's like. We get to know Octavius Augustus only through the words of others. We follow his life in fits and starts rather than a seamless ... Read full review

About the author (2009)

John Williams was born on August 29, 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945 in China, Burma, and India. The Swallow Press published his first novel, Nothing But the Night, in 1948, as well as his first book of poems, The Broken Landscape, in 1949. Macmillan published Williams’ second novel, Butcher’s Crossing, in 1960.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information