Augustus: A Novel

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Mar 25, 2009 - Fiction - 336 pages
85 Reviews
A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power–Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony–young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
31
4 stars
35
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Review: Augustus

User Review  - Elizabeth - Goodreads

I was reminded that I had read this book by one of my friends on Goodreads and absolutely loved it. I read it after reading Stoner and wanted to read more by John Edward Williams and this did not ... Read full review

Review: Augustus

User Review  - Cristina Ana - Goodreads

Elegantly written epistolary fiction with a great choice of subject - for those passionate about ancient Rome, the period following the death of Caesar and the forming of the Second Triumvirate, all ... Read full review

About the author (2009)

John Williams was born on August 29, 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945 in China, Burma, and India. The Swallow Press published his first novel, Nothing But the Night, in 1948, as well as his first book of poems, The Broken Landscape, in 1949. Macmillan published Williams’ second novel, Butcher’s Crossing, in 1960.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information