Cape Refuge

Front Cover
Zondervan, 2002 - Fiction - 385 pages
173 Reviews
Mystery and suspense combine in this first book in an exciting new 4-book series by best-selling author Terri Blackstock. Thelma and Wayne Owens run a bed and breakfast in Cape Refuge, Georgia. They minister to the seamen on the nearby docks and prisoners just out of nearby jails, holding services in an old warehouse and taking many of the "down-and-outers" into their home. They have two daughters: the dutiful Morgan who is married to Jonathan, a fisherman, and helps them out at the B & B, and Blair, the still-single town librarian, who would be beautiful if it weren't for the serious scar on the side of her face.After a heated, public argument with his in-laws, Jonathan discovers Thelma and Wayne murdered in the warehouse where they held their church services. Considered the prime suspect, Jonathan is arrested. Grief-stricken, Morgan and Blair launch their own investigation to help Matthew Cade, the town's young police chief, find the real killer. Shady characters and a raft of suspects keep the plot twisting and the suspense building as we learn not only who murdered Thelma and Wayne, but also the secrets about their family's past and the true reason for Blair's disfigurement.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Awesome writer, God bless. -
There were definitely some plot holes that bothered me. - Goodreads
She needs to work on her portrayal of non-Christians. - Goodreads
This is a real page turner. -
It was a page turner. - Goodreads
It added well to the overall plot. - Goodreads

Review: Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge #1)

User Review  - Debbie - Goodreads

The bloody murder of a minister, Wayne Owens, and his wife Thelma, owners of a shelter for runaways, ex-cons, and others needing to start life over, has the sheriff of a small GA seaside town running ... Read full review

Review: Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge #1)

User Review  - Kayla Neal - Goodreads

Amazing! Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Terri Blackstock was born in Belleville, Illinois on December 7, 1957. She received a bachelor's degree from Northeast Louisiana University in 1981. She began writing in 1983 and wrote 32 romance novels for publishers such as HarperCollins, Harlequin, and Silhouette under the names Terri Harrington, Tracy Hughes, and Terri Blackstock. In 1994, she started writing only Christian novels. She has written over 30 Christian novels including the Sun Coast Chronicles series, Second Chances series, Newpointe 911 series, Cape Refuge series, and Restoration series. She has won numerous awards including the Romance Writers of America's Golden Medallion for Best Short Contemporary Novel in 1988 for Stolen Moments and Retailer's Choice Award for General Fiction in 2007 for Night Light.

Bibliographic information