The Piano Players

Front Cover
Arbor House, 1986 - Fiction - 208 pages
6 Reviews
Following the death of her father, an irregularly employed pianist, Ellen Henshaw becomes a high-class prostitute in Paris during the 1930s and then founds a chain of schools to instruct men in the arts of love and music

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Pianoplayers: Anthony Burgess

User Review  - Sara - Goodreads

Burgess gets constant acclaim for A Clockwork Orange, and rightly so. But this novel is sadly underrated and deserves an earnest read. It draws on memories of his own father playing piano in bars, but ... Read full review

Review: The Pianoplayers: Anthony Burgess

User Review  - Matt - Goodreads

Anthony Burgess, as highly rated as he is, is still underrated. Look at how much of his work is out of print. The Piano Players is a fantastic novel, featuring Blackpool, sex, morality, a bio, a life, the whole shamoo. Five Star Stuff from a Master. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

11 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1986)

Anthony Burgess was born in 1917 in Manchester, England. He studied language at Xaverian College and Manchester University. He had originally applied for a degree in music, but was unable to pass the entrance exams. Burgess considered himself a composer first, one who later turned to literature. Burgess' first novel, A Vision of Battlements (1964), was based on his experiences serving in the British Army. He is perhaps best known for his novel A Clockwork Orange, which was later made into a movie by Stanley Kubrick. In addition to publishing several works of fiction, Burgess also published literary criticism and a linguistics primer. Some of his other titles include The Pianoplayers, This Man and Music, Enderby, The Kingdom of the Wicked, and Little Wilson and Big God. Burgess was living in Monaco when he died in 1993.

Bibliographic information