Bay Country

Front Cover
Johns Hopkins University Press, Feb 1, 1994 - History - 248 pages
3 Reviews

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots." -- Baltimore Magazine.

"Mr. Horton -- a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following -- ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings." -- New York Times Book Review.

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book." -- Washington Post.

Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

What people are saying - Write a review

Bay country

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Bay Country chronicles changes in the lands and waters of the Chesapeake Bay. During the past century, human influence has decreased the base-line populations of geese, eels, crabs, and trees. As ... Read full review

Review: Bay Country

User Review  - Matthew Hahn - Goodreads

Excellent. Should be required reading for anyone who claims Chesapeake heritage. Read full review

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1994)

Horton reported on the Chesapeake Bay for the Baltimore Sun for fifteen years before becoming a freelancer in 1987.

Bibliographic information