A Much Married Man

Front Cover
Macmillan, Jun 12, 2007 - Fiction - 451 pages
34 Reviews
From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene, comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs. 
 
A man of wealth and privilege, Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance.  But with all of his money and privilege, Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match.  Running headlong into marriage is Anthony's forte...and his greatest weakness.      As Anthony surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he's under siege. And he's absolutely right. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.
 
 
Meet the wives
 
Amanda: the ravishing first wife.  Unpredictable and mesmerizing, she dared Anthony to fall in love with her, and he took her up on the challenge.  Anthony was head over heels from the first night they danced on the rooftop of his family home.  Of course, the free-spirited Amanda was never cut out for country life, but young love is blind. 

Sandra: the steadfast second wife.  Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra pulled Anthony back from the compelling chaos that surrounded his first wife. Sandra had plans to turn Anthony's estate into a proper family home, until a stunning secret forced her to make a life-altering decision.

Dita: the snobbish third wife. A true force of nature, Dita was smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance.  She enthusiastically stormed through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, and rubbing plenty of people the wrong way, particularly the previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.
 
With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace!  Adding to the crazy mix is the mistress, Nora, a new age hippy and acupuncturist, whom Anthony seduced with disastrous consequences.
 
A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with memorable characters that will stay with readers long after the final page.  Like a modern day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
0

Review: A Much Married Man

User Review  - Shane Quinn - Goodreads

150 pages too long; utterly predictable and far too self-satisfied with itself to be much of a read. Enjoyable at times and easy to read, but too much detail and too many attempts to resolve stories. Read full review

Review: A Much Married Man

User Review  - Ellen - Goodreads

I wish I could give 3.75 but feel guilty about a 4 star review. If you like Downton Abbey you'll enjoy this book. It's like a modern day postscript to all that English drama. My husband reminded me ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

NICHOLAS COLERIDGE, a former newspaper columnist and editor of Harpers & Queen, is now U.K. Managing Director of Condé Nast magazines.  His bestselling novels have been published in twelve languages.  He lives in London and Worcestershire with his family.

Bibliographic information