The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Macmillan, Oct 26, 2010 - Fiction - 752 pages
36 Reviews
Lydia Davis is one of our most original and influential writers. She has been called “an American virtuoso of the short story form” (Salon) and “one of the quiet giants . . . of American fiction” (Los Angeles Times Book Review). Now, for the first time, Davis’s short stories will be collected in one volume, from the groundbreaking Break It Down (1986) to the 2007 National Book Award nominee Varieties of Disturbance.

The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis is an event in American letters.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis

User Review  - Josh Luft - Goodreads

Lydia Davis composes brilliant and lucid little bursts of life. The stories collected here vary in length from two words to 48 pages. Most, though, are flashes of a few hundred words. They're splendid ... Read full review

Review: The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis

User Review  - Tosh - Goodreads

A book that took me forever to read, not due to its content (I don't think), but more by design. I tend to read short story collections very slowly, and almost not wanting to finish them. I think I ... Read full review

All 7 reviews »

About the author (2010)

Lydia Davis is the author of one novel and seven story collections, the most recent of which was a finalist for the 2007 National Book Award. She is the acclaimed translator of a new edition of Swann’s Way and is at work on a new translation of Madame Bovary.

Bibliographic information