Front Cover
Random House LLC, 2006 - Fiction - 483 pages
23 Reviews
Joyce Carol Oates’s Wonderland Quartet comprises four remarkable novels that explore social class in America and the inner lives of young Americans. Spanning from the Great Depression to the turbulent Vietnam War era, Wonderland is the epic account of Jesse Vogel, a boy who emerged from a family tragedy with his life spared but his world torn apart. Orphaned after watching his father murder his entire family, Jesse embarks on a personal odyssey that takes him from a Dickensian foster home to college and graduate school to the pinnacle of the medical profession. As an adult, Jesse must summon the strength to reach across the “generation gap” and rescue his endangered teenaged daughter, who has fallen into the drug-infused 1960s counterculture.

Hailed by Library Journal as “the greatest of Oates’s novels,” Wonderland is the capstone of a magnificent literary excursion that plunges beneath the glossy surface of American life.

Wonderland is the final novel in Joyce Carol Oates’s Wonderland Quartet. The books that complete this acclaimed series, A Garden of Earthly Delights, Expensive People, and them, are also available from the Modern Library.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Wonderland (Wonderland Quartet #4)

User Review  - Erica - Goodreads

Joyce carol Oates never disappoints. Wonderful novel full of emotion. The ending is disturbing, upsetting yet fabulous. I want to know more and have Shelley have her own novel no matter how heart wrenching it would be. Read full review

Review: Wonderland (Wonderland Quartet #4)

User Review  - Pamela Scott - Goodreads

Wonderland looks at the complexities of relationships between parents and children, husband and wife, family members and relationships between work colleagues. The novel opens powerfully with Jesse ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2006)

Joyce Carol Oates is the Roger S. Berlind Professor in the Humanities at Princeton University. The bestselling author of the novels We Were the Mulvaneys and Blonde, she has written numerous works of fiction, poetry, essays, criticism, and plays.

Bibliographic information