A Geography of Saints: A Memoir

Front Cover
Zoland Books, 2001 - Biography & Autobiography - 263 pages
0 Reviews
A delightful western memoir, for readers who love Pam Houston and Melissa Banks.

"A Geography of Saints" is a fascinating and clear-eyed account of the author's first year caretaking a horse ranch outside Saints, Oregon. In language as terse as Tom McGuane, as wondrous as Rachel Carson, Penny Allen tells of challenges both natural and human: the predations of clear-cut logging, how the cult of Rajneeshpuram took over the town of Antelope, the crucial and ceaseless importance of water on the desert, the odd security provided by a reclusive Vietnam vet "on patrol"; in the forest, and the highs and lows of a love affair conducted in Big Sky country.

"Allen is a writer of extraordinary talent. A gem of a book." -Mary Dearborn

"Allen sculpts prose that is physical, melodically clear, and mesmerizingly dangerous." -Katherine Dunn

"A wonderful portrait of life in the high desert of Oregon. A very inspiring book."-Gus Van Sant

Originally from Portland, Oregon, Penny Allen is a filmmaker and writer living in Paris. She has written articles and book reviews for "The New York Times" and "The International Herald Tribune. A Geography of Saints" is her first book.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Geography of Saints

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This memoir focuses on filmmaker Allen's experiences during a period of transition in her life. At that time, she meets Peter, a lawyer also seeking a new direction, and the two jump at an opportunity ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
19
Section 3
37
Copyright

13 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Allen is a filmmaker and writer.

Bibliographic information