Gone: Poems (Google eBook)

Front Cover
University of California Press, Apr 30, 2003 - Poetry - 128 pages
3 Reviews
This collection of new poems by one of the most respected poets in the United States uses motifs of advance and recovery, doubt and conviction in an emotional relation to the known world. Heralded as "one of our most vital, unclassifiable writers" by the "Voice Literary Supplement, " Fanny Howe has published more than twenty books and is the recipient of the Gold Medal for Poetry from the Commonwealth Club of California. In addition, her "Selected Poems" received the 2001 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for the Most Outstanding Book of Poetry Published in 2000 from the Academy of American Poets.The poems in "Gone" describe the transit of a psyche, driven by uncertainty and by love, through various stations and experiences. This volume of short poems and one lyrical essay, all written in the last five years, is broken into five parts; and the longest of these, "The Passion," consecrates the contradictions between these two emotions. The "New York Times Book Review" said, "Howe has made a long-term project of trying to determine how we fit into God's world, and her aim is both true and marvelously free of sentimental piety." With "Gone, " readers will have the opportunity to experience firsthand Howe s continuation of that elusive and fascinating endeavor."

What people are saying - Write a review

Gone: poems

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

One of our most honored poets-she claims the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize among her awards-Howe returns with a work as rich as it is unpredictable-and nicely pared to the essence. ... Read full review

Review: Gone (New California Poetry #7)

User Review  - Kent - Goodreads

I will always be interested in a book that approaches theology with both humility and curiosity. Howe admits that it is a search--in the first section of the book she looks for some alternative "she ... Read full review


The Descent
The Passion

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Fanny Howe is Professor Emeritus of Writing and Literature at the University of California, San Diego. She is the author of more than twenty books of fiction and poetry, including Indivisible (2001), Selected Poems (California, 2000), and One Crossed Out (1998).

Bibliographic information