The Three Levels of Spiritual Perception: A Commentary on the Three Visions

Front Cover
Wisdom Publications, Jun 15, 2003 - Philosophy - 550 pages
1 Review
The Three Levels of Spiritual Perception is a guide to the main system of meditation in the Sakya tradition of Tibetan Buddhism. Written by one of the first Tibetan masters to live and teach in the United States, this modern classic entertains, inspires, and motivates readers as it leads them along the entire path to enlightenment.

This book clearly and movingly explains the Lamdre (Path with Its Results) system of meditation, which has been unique to the Sakya tradition for almost nine centuries. According to the Lamdre teachings, there are three main stages, or "levels of perception", on the spiritual path: the perception of ordinary beings, the vision experienced by those who have begun meditation practice, and the pure vision of those who have attained enlightenment. These three levels are ultimately shown to be inseparable.

This new edition of The Three Levels of Spiritual Perception has been revised to make the language and meaning even more clear. Wherever you may be on the path, you will find in this book welcome instructions and motivation for taking the next step.

What people are saying - Write a review

The three levels of spiritual perception: an oral commentary on The three visions (nang sum) of Ngorchen Könchog Lhündrub

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Rinpoche (1906-87) was a teaching master of the Sakya tradition of Tibetan Buddhism. In this commentary on The Three Visions, by Ngorchen Konchog Lhundrub (1497-1557), Rinpoche develops his ... Read full review

Review: The Three Levels of Spiritual Perception: A Commentary on the Three Visions

User Review  - Xiaomin Zu - Goodreads

A Tibetan Classic, well, Sakya classic to be exact, a modern commentary on Lamdre system of thought, in Chinese it's 道果。 Read full review

About the author (2003)

The Venerable Deshung Rinpoche (1906-87) was born in Tibet and came to the United States in 1960. As well as being a luminary of the Sakya tradition, Deshung Rinpoche was a nonsectarian master teaching all four traditions of Tibetan Buddhism. He tirelessly practiced the Buddha's teachings and was revered not only by his many Tibetan and Western students but by many great Tibetan teachers as well.

Jarden Rhoton (Sonam Tenzin) devoted his adult life to the welfare of the Sakya school of Tibetan Buddhism and its teachers, texts, and students. He was noted for his humility and his great ability as an interpreter and translator. Jared passed away in 1993 at the age of fifty-two.

Bibliographic information