Tamara Walks on Water

Front Cover
Piatkus, 2004 - Families - 250 pages
1 Review
A beautifully written, sensual and evocative book, in the tradition of Amy Tan and Isabelle Allende, rich in magic realism and folklore. 'To understand the end you have to look for the beginning'. As a little girl in Jaffa, Israel, Tamara has an insatiable desire for stories, constantly asking questions of those around her, and demanding explanations. However, no-one ever seems to give Tamara the whole story, so instead she must piece together the various narratives herself in what will become a lifelong attempt to unravel the hidden secrets of her tangled family history, and so bring some meaning to her own life. Raised by her fiercely independent maternal grandmother, Simcha, who jealously guards her from others, in particular her paternal grandmother, Rashella, Tamara's love of stories develops into a voracious appetite for life itself. An impulsive, passionate seeker of knowledge in all its forms, nothing prepares her for the thrilling intensity and the danger of falling deeply, madly in love for the first time

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Tamara Walks on Water

User Review  - Chrissie Eagles - Goodreads

as good as "Four Mothers"...well written Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
3
Section 3
8
Copyright

27 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Shifra Horn lives in Jerusalem and this is her third novel. Her previous two novels were both international bestsellers and she has won several literary prizes.

Bibliographic information