The Last Generation: How Nature Will Take Her Revenge for Climate Change

Front Cover
Eden Project Books, 2007 - Climatic changes - 400 pages
2 Reviews
Nature is fragile, environmentalists tell us. Not so. The truth is far more worrying. She is strong and packs a serious counter-punch. And it could be on the way. This is the story that scientists have been scared to tell us, because they feared they wouldn't be believed. Man-made global warming is on the verge of unleashing unstoppable planetary forces. Biological and geological monsters are being woken, and they will consume us. The process will not be gradual. New scientific findings about how our planet works show that it does not do gradual change. Under pressure, it lurches into another mode of operation - virtually overnight Nature's revenge will be sudden and brutal, like a climatic tsunami sweeping across the globe. In this impassioned report, Fred Pearce travels the world on the story to end them all. He shares the fears of scientists about a man-made apocalypse within our lifetime. And he visits the places where the action may start: deep in the Amazon, high in the Arctic and among the bogs of Siberia. Most troubling, he uncovers the first signs that nature's revenge is already under way. Read his book, or your children will never forgive you.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Last Generation: How Nature Will Take Her Revenge for Climate Change

User Review  - Douglas - Goodreads

The definitive book on global warming. Read full review


Chronology of Climate Change
Hie Cast
The Chimney

50 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Fred Pearce is a former news editor at New Scientist magazine, and is currently its environment and development consultant. He also writes regularly for the Independent and the Times Higher Education Supplement, the Boston Globe and Foreign Policy in the US. He was voted BEMA Environment Journalist of the Year in 2001 and has been short-listed for the same award in 2000, 2002 and 2003.

Bibliographic information