The Well of Lost Plots: A Thursday Next Novel (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Penguin, Aug 3, 2004 - Fiction - 416 pages
81 Reviews
The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!


  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
23
4 stars
37
3 stars
20
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CCleveland - LibraryThing

This one was a bit more up and down for me than the first two in the series, which I absolutely loved. Thursday does a lot of meandering in the Well of Lost Plots and the overall plot of this book ... Read full review

Review: The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next #3)

User Review  - Laura Johnson - Goodreads

I really enjoy the premise of this series, but this book (#3) did not hold my attention as did the previous 2 installments of the story. I found it very easy to lay aside this story for long stretches ... Read full review

Contents

The Story So Far   
Authors Note
1 The Absence of Breakfast
2InsideCaversham Heights
3Three Witches Multiple Choice and Sarcasm
4 Landen ParkeLaine
5 The Well of Lost Plots
6 Night of the Grammasites
19Shadow the Sheepdog
20Ibb and Obb Named and Heights Again
21Who Stole the Tarts?
22Crimean Nightmares
23Jurisfiction Session No 40320
24Pledges the Council of Genres and Searching for Deane
25Havishamthe Final Bow
26PostHavisham Blues

7 Feeding the Minotaur
8 TonSixty on the A419
9 Apples Benedict a Hedgehog and Commander Bradshaw
10 Jurisfiction Session No 40319
11Introducing UltraWord
12Wuthering Heights
14Educating the Generics
15Landen ParkeSomebody
16Captain Nemo
17Minotaur Trouble
18Snell Rest in Peece and Lucy Deane
27The Lighthouse at the Edge of My Mind
28Lola Departs and Heights Again
29Mrs Bradshaw and Solomon Judgments Inc
30Revelations
31Tables Turned
32The 923rd Annual BookWorld Awards
33UltraWord
34Loose Ends
34aHeavy WeatherBonus chapter exclusive to the US edition
Credits
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The Eyre Affair was his first novel in the bestselling series of Thursday Next novels, which includes Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots, Something Rotten, First Among Sequels, One of Our Thursdays is Missing, and The Woman Who Died A Lot. The series has more than one million copies (and counting) in print. He is also the author of The Big Over Easy and The Fourth Bear of the Nursery Crime series, Shades of Grey, and books for young readers, including The Last Dragonslayer. Visit jasperfforde.com.

Bibliographic information