The gift of Asher Lev

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Jun 30, 1991 - Fiction - 368 pages
16 Reviews
"Rivals anything Chaim Potok has ever produced. It is a book written with passion about passion. You're not likely to read anything better this year."
Twenty years have passed for Asher Lev. He is a world-renowned artist living in France, still uncertain of his artistic direction. When his beloved uncle dies suddenly, Asher and his family rush back to Brooklyn--and into a world that Asher thought he had left behind forever....

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

That, and mesmerising prose. - Goodreads
The ending of this novel is more subtle, though. - Goodreads
The plot itself moves very slowly. - Goodreads
The advice of an artist's rebbe. - Goodreads

Review: The Gift of Asher Lev

User Review  - Syme - Goodreads

A wonderful complex novel about individuality vs the community, with religion, art, family and depression all thrown in the mix. That, and mesmerising prose. Potok, you legend. Read full review

Review: The Gift of Asher Lev

User Review  - Liz - Goodreads

20 years after My Name is Asher Lev, The Gift of Asher Lev begins. Following a disastrous art show, Asher's favorite uncle dies. He takes his family (wife, daughter, and son) from their home in Paris ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

34 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Chaim Potok was born and raised in New York City. He began to write fiction at the age of 16, graduated summa cum laude with a B.A. in English literature from Yeshiva University, and earned a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Pennsylvania. An ordained rabbi, he served as an army chaplain in Korea for sixteen months with, successively, a front-line medical battalion and an engineer combat battalion. His first novel, The Chosen, was nominated for a National Book Award and received the prestigious Edward Lewis Wallant Award. His other novels include My Name is Asher Lev, The Gift of Asher Lev (winner of the National Jewish Book Award), and I Am the Clay.