Procedures for underground

Front Cover
Little, Brown, 1970 - Poetry - 79 pages
2 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Procedures For Underground

User Review  - Mariana - Goodreads

This Margaret Atwood first book. The poems get better and better. I plan to read all of her books that I can find. I can learn much from her. Read full review

Review: Procedures For Underground

User Review  - Kristin - Goodreads

Reading this collection, I was amazed at the ways Atwood's poetry has changed over the years, and how it has remained the same. Read full review


Eden Is a Zoo
Delayed Message
Weekend Near Toronto

3 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1970)

Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

Bibliographic information