Never Send Flowers

Front Cover
G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1993 - Fiction - 286 pages
6 Reviews
Illusion leads to murder as 007 crosses the globe, tracking down the wrong killer in Gardner's 12th addition to the classic, bestselling James Bond series. While investigating a murder, Bond is led on a harrowing intercontinental chase that reaches its chilling and fantastic climax outside Paris in the ultimate kingdom of illusion and magic: EuroDisney.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Never Send Flowers (John Gardner's Bond #13)

User Review  - Darren Freebury-Jones - Goodreads

The James Bond continuation novels really are for hardcore fans only, which is a pity of course, but such is the general quality of the lacklustre continuation novels. At page 201 I really thought ... Read full review

Review: Never Send Flowers (John Gardner's Bond #13)

User Review  - Stan - Goodreads

Improbable and mindless, probably the low-point of Gardner's Bond novels, though it has been many years since I have read one of his. I might return to one of his earlier ones to see if I have changed instead of he. Read full review


Week of the Assassins
Gazing Down at the Jungfrau

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1993)

John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).

Bibliographic information