Beyond Infinity

Front Cover
Warner Adult, Mar 1, 2006 - Fiction - 450 pages
12 Reviews
In this book, Cley is an Original, one of the few genetically pure descendants of mankind still left on Earth. Catastrophe strikes when unknown life-forms kill all of the planet's Originals-except Cley. Forced to flee, Cley begins a desperate quest through her wildly transformed world and beyond. For somewhere-past planets that have been reengineered, past sentient ship-worlds evolving deep between stars, past creatures the size of solar systems-waits the Malign. A being so powerful that it can escape a black hole, the Malign is destroying the galaxy as it hunts down the one thing it fears - Cley.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Beyond Infinity

User Review  - Steve - Goodreads

I've been reading SF for over 40 years, and this was one of the more difficult books to read. Seemed like a flimsy plot that simply allowed Benford to introduce a wide variety of fascinating concepts -- from the pinwheel to the brane and his evolution of Read full review

Review: Beyond Infinity

User Review  - AR Voss - Goodreads

It is seldom that an author truly upsets me with their writing. Benford has become one of those with this book. The story had its good moments, however those moments can be summed up in fifty pages or ... Read full review

About the author (2006)

Gregory Benford, was born on January 30, 1941 in Mobile, Alabama. He is a physicist and science fiction writer who earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, San Diego, in 1967. He is a Woodrow Wilson Fellow and a consultant for NASA. Benford's first novel "Deeper than the Darkness" (1970), which was revised as "The Stars in Shroud" (1978), gave him notice as a serious Science Fiction writer. His most popular work is "Timescape" (1980), which was the winner of the Nebula and John W. Campbell Memorial Awards; it presented a hard physics approach to limited time travel. "In the Ocean of Night" (1977), "Across the Sea of Suns" (1984), "Great Sky River" (1987), "Tides of Light" (1989) and "Furious Gulf" (1994) were all a part of the Galactic Cluster Series. He has also written the juvenile novel "Jupiter Project" (1975), "Against Infinity" (1983) and the thriller "Artifact" (1985). He has been nominated for 12 Nebula Awards (winning for "Timescape" and for the novelette, "If the Stars are Gods"). Benford, writing alternately with Bruce Sterling, produces science fact articles for the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. They took over after the death of regular columnist Isaac Asimov. He has also co-edited theme anthologies with Martin H. Greenburg, which include "Hitler Victorious" (1986), "Nuclear War" (1988), "What Might Have Been, Volume 1: Alternate Empires" (1988), "Volume 2: Alternate Heroes" (1989) and "Volume 3: Alternate Wars.

Bibliographic information