Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, 1993 - Families - 481 pages
26 Reviews

The third volume in the Cazalet Chronicles, recently adapted for BBC Radio 4

London and Sussex, 1942. The English family in turmoil...

The long, dark days of struggle provide the poignant background to the third book of the Cazalet Chronicle. As the war enters its fourth year, chaos has become a way of life.

Both in the still peaceful Sussex countryside, and in air-raid-threatened London, the divided Cazalets begin to find the battle for survival echoing the confusion in their own lives...

Confusion is the third volume in The Cazalet Chronicle. The next and final novel in the series is Casting Off.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Confusion (Cazalet Chronicles #3)

User Review  - Jane - Goodreads

Found it, Claire! Will read it and pass on... Read full review

Review: Confusion (Cazalet Chronicles #3)

User Review  - Hilary Tesh - Goodreads

Continuing the story of the Cazalet Chronicles, this episode covers the period from March 1942 to the end of the war. Polly and Clary evolve into interesting young women during this time - whilst ... Read full review

About the author (1993)

Elizabeth Jane Howard was the author of fifteen highly acclaimed novels. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion, Casting Off and All Change - have become established as modern classics and have been adapted for a major BBC television series and most recently for BBC Radio 4. In 2002 Macmillan published Elizabeth Jane Howard's autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Bibliographic information