As the Crow Flies

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, Jul 1, 2003 - English fiction - 736 pages
16 Reviews
Growing up in the slums of East End London, Charlie Trumper dreams of someday running his grandfather's fruit and vegetable barrow. That day comes suddenly when his grandfather dies leaving him the floundering business. With the help of Becky Salmon, an enterprising young woman, Charlie sets out to make a name for himself as "The Honest Trader." But the brutal onset of World War I takes Charlie far from home and into the path of a dangerous enemy whose legacy of evil follows Charlie and his family for generations. Encompassing three continents and spanning over sixty years, "As the Crow Flies" brings to life a magnificent tale of one man's rise from rags to riches set against the backdrop of a changing century.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Great story, characters and style of story telling. - Goodreads
It was easy to read, but not very fulfilling. - Goodreads
It's been awhile since I read a genuine 'page turner.' - Goodreads

Review: As the Crow Flies

User Review  - Kathy Randles - Goodreads

The life and business of Charlie Trumper “the Honest Trader est. 1823.” Takes Charlie and his wife Becky from humble beginnings in White Chapel in 1900 through trials and successes of life till 1971 ... Read full review

Review: As the Crow Flies

User Review  - Jim Henry - Goodreads

This is a fairly good 200 page novel, hiding inside 600 pages. It was easy to read, but not very fulfilling. I was ready to quit on it at the halfway point, as I became tired of reading of each shop ... Read full review

About the author (2003)

Jeffrey Archer was born on April 15, 1940, in London, England. After graduating from Brasenose College, Oxford, he founded his own company named Arrow Enterprises and promptly amassed a fortune. In 1969, he was elected to the House of Commons. A conservative Member of Parliament, he was, at the age of 29, the youngest member at that time. While in Parliament, he invested in a corporation and lost his fortune because of embezzlement. Devastated and facing financial ruin, he recounted his experiences in his book, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less. The success of this book launched his writing career. His other works include Kane and Abel, Honor among Thieves, Shall We Tell the President?, A Quiver Full of Arrows, The Prodigal Daughter, and The Sins of the Father. He is also the author of The Clifton Chronicles series. He writes plays including Beyond Reasonable Doubt and The Accused. He was sentenced to four years imprisonment because of perjury and conspiracy to pervert the course of justice, and was released in July 2003. He published three volumes of his Prison Diary: Hell, Purgatory, and Heaven. In 2014, his title Be Careful What You Wish For made The New York Times Best Seller List.

Bibliographic information