What We Talk About When We Talk About Love: Stories

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 1981 - Fiction - 159 pages
588 Reviews
Short stories that feature a pantheon of losers, peripheral people, and men and women without education, insight, or prospects who, ironically, are too unimaginative to ever give up

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
278
4 stars
203
3 stars
77
2 stars
21
1 star
9

Love me a manly writer - Goodreads
You can't call Carver's writing beautiful. - Goodreads
Carver's prose is familiar and frightening immediately. - Goodreads
None of the stories seem to have a happy ending. - Goodreads
Carver is one of themasters of short story telling. - Goodreads
Stripped-down prose. - Goodreads

Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love

User Review  - Jonathan Gibson - Goodreads

Carver has some of the cleanest prose I've ever come across. His stories are filled with real people, not just characters. I would give this a 5/5 based on the strength of the title story alone. Read full review

Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love

User Review  - Maria Ella - Goodreads

“All this, all of this love we're talking about, it would just be a memory. Maybe not even a memory. Am I wrong? Am I way off base?” In the first read of the book, I made it part of the 2013-reading ... Read full review

Contents

Gazebo 21
1
Sacks 37
17
The Bath 47
27
Copyright

5 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1981)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information