All of Us: The Collected Poems

Front Cover
Harvill Press, Jan 1, 1996 - American poetry - 386 pages
55 Reviews
"Carver's poetry is like an almost invisible strand of fishing line reeling us all together, connecting us by the heart." --"San Francisco Examiner and Chronicle" This prodigiously rich collection suggests that Raymond Carver was not only America's finest writer of short fiction, but also one of its most large-hearted and affecting poets. Like Carver's stories, the more than 300 poems in All of Us are marked by a keen attention to the physical world; an uncanny ability to compress vast feeling into discreet moments; a voice of conversational intimacy, and an unstinting sympathy. This complete edition brings together all the poems of Carver's five previous books, from Fires to the posthumously published No Heroics, Please. It also contains bibliographical and textual notes on individual poems; a chronology of Carver's life and work; and a moving introduction by Carver's widow, the poet Tess Gallagher.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
24
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1

Can't help loving his writing style, very unique. - Goodreads
He was a MUCH better story-writer than poet. - Goodreads
The darkness in the room teems with insight. - Goodreads
He was a good (if overextended) man and a great writer. - Goodreads

Review: All of Us: The Collected Poems

User Review  - Estelle - Goodreads

Can't help loving his writing style, very unique. Read full review

Review: All of Us: The Collected Poems

User Review  - Kristina - Goodreads

Not my favorite style of poetry but worth browsing through. Read full review

Contents

Distress Sale
5
III
21
Balzac
28
Copyright

36 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information