Reviews

THE CASUAL VACANCY

Editorial Review - Kirkus - Jane Doe

Harry Potter's mommy has a potty mouth.The wires have been abuzz for months with the news that Rowling was writing a new book—and this one a departure from her Potter franchise, a book for grown-ups. The wait was worth it, and if Rowling's focus remains on tortured adolescents (as if there were any other kind), they're teenagers trapped without any magic whatsoever in a world full of Muggles ... Read full review

Review: The Casual Vacancy

Editorial Review - Bookreporter.com - Roz Shea

Imagine for a moment that you are JK Rowling. Your internationally bestselling novels about an orphan boy who attends an imaginary school for wizards and witches, over which you labored for 10 years, have sold hundreds of millions of copies. They have been translated into 73 languages and turned into eight blockbuster movies. Harry Potter is now and probably will remain a household name for ... Read full review

User reviews

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Chanel Wallet
http://www.chanelwallet.net/topichtml/chanel-travel-wallet.html
http://www.chanelwallet.net/topichtml/chanel-wallet.html
http://www.chanelwallet.net/topichtml/chanel-classic-wallet.html

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

just finished it. Loved and and highly recommend it to adult readers. If you only pick it up because you loved Harry Potter, put it down and look for another fantasy. This is gritty and grotesk realism. She described it as a a "comic tragedy". For the thinking reader a gripping read and hard to put down.  

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

excellent book couldn't put it down most of the time. The characters seem to jump from the pages. I really had a good time reading this book. Thanks can't wait till next one.

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

BORED until the last 50 pages. I am very dissappointed that I hated this book. While Rowlings did a great job building the characters and painting a solid view of this small town, I just didn't care. I hated every single character and found their lives very boring and mundane. I kept reading thinking that a catch was coming, something, anything to keep me going but nothing until the bitter end. And all that boredom for a very unsatisfying and sad ending. I am very surprised that so many people actually gave this 5 stars.....????? 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------A
HOW TO BRAIN WASHIN WITH NANO TECNOLOGY - MENTAL TORTURES - MIND CONTROL - CAUTERIZATIONS
A
PRIMERO JUSTICIA - FIRST JUSTICE -VENEZUELA
A ENGLISH
A
Venezuelas Crime Policy
A
(Cerebral Mutilation - Mutilation of the hypothalamus)
A
ANTI MIND CONTROL - ELECTRO MAGNETIC SECURITY SISTEMS C.O.V.
A
CNN News - ELECTRO MAGNETIC NOISE DEVICE JUAN CARLOS VALLEJOS - CALL NEWS OFERS!!! VENEZUELA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VENEZUELAN PHONE: (+00 58) 0414-422-91-69 / 0414-406-68-52 / 0414-585-00-44 / 0241-823-81-97
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A
ANTI MIND CONTROL - MENTAL TORTURE - BRAIN WASHING - HUMAN USED AS RATS - MIND CONTROL ANTI MENTAL TORTURE
A
(ILLUIMTAI) AND (NOW) ORG
A
AGENCYS SPIES THROUG YOUR EYES! - PROVED!!!!!!!!!!
A
A -----------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
A
A SPANISH
A
BLOQUEO ANULACION ESCUDO DE RUIDO ELECTRO MAGANETICO (0 HRZ - 3.9) GHRZ
A
JUAN CARLOS VALLEJOS - Proyecto Venezuela de la Universidad de Carabobo
A
TELEFONOS VZLA (+ 00 58) 0414 -422-91-69
A
(+ 00 58) 0414 -406-68-52
A
(+ 00 58) 0414 -585-00-44
A
(+ 00 58) 0241 -823-81-97
A
A ------------------------------------------------------------
TENEMOS JAMMERS FABRICADOS EN INVENTARIOS - FACIL ENVIO - PROYECTO DE LA UNIVERSIDAD DE CARABOBO
A
PROYECTO GENOCIDIO - PORTAL OFICIAL - URL: http://www.docs.google.com/open?id=0B7rdd1w6dkcSamZTX1ZNWWZmVkk
A
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A
Crime Policy.
A
Mafias, Kidnapping and Drug Trafficking.
A
Complaints to prosecutors and courts
A
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AGENCIES - SNIPER ELITE SEAL USA ARMY - ELIAX - SUIZAN AGENCIES - GERMANY AGENCYS
A
AGENCIES CHANGAY JAPAN (JOSIHO NODA) & EMBASSADOR - CHINA AND NORTH KOREA ASESIANDO Venezuelan citizens stealing information from satellites VENEZOLANOS
A
HUAMAN RACE STUDIES INTELGENCY AGENCY OF STATES IN VENEZUELA NEGRO PONTE
A
DRUG THEFT MURDERS THE HAGUE AND THE UN HUMAN rights violators MAKE STUDIES OF THE HUMAN RACE IN THE WORLD.
A
EVENT HORIZON CORP U.S. ARMY - JOSE SALGADO - ORGANIZATION - CANADA - BOOK - SPACE PROGRAM - COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY - NASA - State - Country
A
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A
ILUMINATI AND NOW GENOCIDE BY JUAN CARLOS VALLEJOS
A
03/19/2005 GENOCIDE BILL GATE PROJECT COPY PROJECTS BY TECHNOLOGICAL IN LATIN AMERICA VENEZUELA
A
GENOCIDE PROYECT - OFFICAL WEB URL: http://www.docs.google.com/open?id=0B7rdd1w6dkcSamZTX1ZNWWZmVkk
A
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A
EVENT HORIZON Space programs and organizations conducting studies for the human race to NASA space programs
A
Some presidents of North America USA CANADA USA USSR, ORGANIZATIONS HUMAN RACE STUDY, MAKE DIFFERENT CRIMINAL ACTIVITY
A
ILLUIMTAI AND (NOW) ORGANIZATIONS - (CHINA, JAPAN (UN AND HAYA IN ITS DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMME UNITED NATIONS) AND NORTH KOREA) STUDY OF THE HUMAN RACE IN THE UNITED STATES THAT AS - MK ULTRA - PANDORA
 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

So . . . I expected the book to be a darkly comedic social commentary. It is, instead, miserable, bitter, and dull. There are far too many characters (20+ "protagonists"), so it's difficult to really care about any of them -- especially because they're all horrible people. Rowling seems to be purposefully trying to alienate her entire readership by being as vulgar as possible -- both in language and in sexual content. Although she has a few lines which are insightful and even humorous, the bulk of the prose is utterly pedestrian and, because she has so many main characters, very heavy on exposition. Thus far, the book seems to be one long thread of malicious gossip with no real depth and a setting which is more backdrop than location. And it's boring. That's just it -- it's not even particularly terrible because nothing particularly stands out. It's just one long driveling stream of muddy misery.
I understand that Rowling is trying to distance herself from the fame of Harry Potter . . . but I think she's wrong. Oh, I don't think she should write an HP clone, I just think she should play her strengths. She's a superb fantasy writer and can create entire magical worlds . . . and there's more than one way to do that. She's good at fantasy, her readers want to see more fantasy, it would be absolutely marvelous if she would create new and different worlds!
And I hope she goes back to doing that, because she definitely can't write our world. When she tries, all the magic goes out of her writing. Dull, vulgar, pointlessly cruel, petty, and uninspiring.
 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I'm sorry to say that I found the book dull and boring. Also, extremely morbid. Were it not for the fact that it is a J.K.Rowling book, I would never have gotten past the first few chapters.

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Tour de force by Ms. Rowling, exceeded expectations. The Casual Vacancy is what every great work of literature should be, an in-depth study of what it means to be human.

User ratings

5 stars
318
4 stars
138
3 stars
149
2 stars
135
1 star
193

All reviews - 89
5 stars - 22
4 stars - 18
3 stars - 19
1 star - 12

All reviews - 89

All reviews - 89
Kirkus - 1