Originally known as Holford's Prairie, Lewisville's name is not the only thing that has changed about this town in its long history. Settlers sponsored by the Peters Colony Company founded the small community in the 1840s. In the ensuing years, the settlement, renamed to Lewisville by Basdeal W. Lewis in 1856, consistently grew and prospered until its incorporation in 1925. Cotton farming and ginning, the arrival of the Dallas and Wichita Railroad in 1881, the expansion of Lake Dallas into Lake Lewisville in 1954, and the opening of the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport in 1974 ensured that Lewisville became an important commercial center in booming North Texas. Throughout its phenomenal growth, however, Lewisville still retained the charm and bonds of its farm-centered past. Today Lewisville boasts the largest population and school district in Denton County and serves as a suburb for the bustling Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.
What people are saying - Write a review
We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.
20th century African American archeologists Baptist Church building built Church Street city's Cobb congregation corner of Main Corps of Engineers cotton gin Courtesy Dallas Public Courtesy Denton County Courtesy James Polser Courtesy Spencer family Dallas Public Library Denton County Museums Denton Public Library Denton Record Chronicle downtown Lewisville Drugstore Elm Fork expanded the lake Fagg farm Fighting Farmers Garza Dam Grocery Hembry Street Holford's Prairie Independent School District Interstate 35 Interstate 35 East J.L. Huffines Jacobsen James Degan Lake Dallas Lake Lewisville left to right Lewisville Academy Lewisville area Lewisville began Lewisville Feed Mill Lewisville High School Lewisville Independent School Lewisville National Bank Lewisville residents Lewisville School Lewisville students Lewisville's located longtime Main and Mill Methodist Mill Street modern North Texas Old Hall Cemetery opened original photograph Poydras Street Purnell Street Railroad Record Chronicle Collection Ritter served side of Main southeastern Today Trinity River