The One and Only Ivan

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, Feb 16, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 208 pages
2192 Reviews

Winner of the Newbery Medal 2013
Inspired by a true story, this is the beautifully written tale of how a mighty gorilla wins his freedom. A winning blend of humour and poignancy that will appeal to fans of Michael Morpurgo.

Ivan is an easy-going gorilla who has spent his life performing for the crowds at the Exit 8 shopping mall. He rarely misses life in the jungle. In fact, he hardly thinks about it at all. But everything changes when a baby elephant called Ruby arrives and Ivan realises he must find a new life for them both. Told from Ivanís perspective this is a stand-out novel with a pertinent message for readers of 9+.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Loved the POV. A little sad, but triumphant ending - LibraryThing
Reminiscent of Charlotte's Web, in lyrical prose. - LibraryThing
Very interesting broken up, Avi "Eva" style writing. - LibraryThing
His insight on human behavior is eye opening... - LibraryThing
There are occasional, beautiful pictures throughout. - LibraryThing
Applegate's writing is creative and emotional. - LibraryThing

Review: The One and Only Ivan

User Review  - Jamie - Goodreads

I'm a sucker for animal stories, and knowing that Ivan was a real gorilla at my local zoo, I had to read this fictionalized account of his life. My 13yo and I both enjoyed it. Beautiful story. Read full review

Review: The One and Only Ivan

User Review  - Kelly Dorris - Goodreads

New read aloud??? Love it. Read full review

About the author (2012)

Katherine Applegate was born in Michigan on July 19, 1956. Her works include science fiction, young adult romances, and pop-up books. She writes the Making Waves, Making Out, and Roscoe Riley Rules series. She writes the Animorphs, Everworld, and Remnants series under the pen name K. A. Applegate. She also writes under the pen names of C. Archer, Catherine Kendall and Elizabeth Benning. In 1997, she won a Golden Duck Award (Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grades) for The Message. Home of the Brave won the SCBWI 2008 Golden Kite Award for Best Fiction and the Bank Street 2008 Josette Frank Award.

Bibliographic information