Indian Financial Markets: An Insider's Guide to How the Markets Work (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Elsevier, Sep 30, 2008 - Business & Economics - 264 pages
1 Review
The whole world wants to invest in India. But how to do this successfully? Written by two Indian financial experts with a seasoned expert of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, this book tells you the why and how of investing in India. It explains how India's financial markets work, discusses the amazing growth of the Indian economy, identifies growth drivers, uncovers areas of uncertainty and risk. It describes how each market works: private equity and IPOs, bonds, stocks, derivatives, commodities, real estate, currency. The authors include a discussion of capital controls in each section to address the needs of foreign investors. Learn about the the markets, the instruments, the participants, and the institutions governing trading, clearing, and settlement of transactions, as well as the legal and regulatory framework governing financial securities transactions.

--Written by two life-long insiders who can explain India's financial markets to outsiders
--Clear and comprehensive coverage of this economic powerhouse
--Caters to the needs of foreign investors
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book is a feast to motivated students of finance and markets. The clinical approach and the authors have a way of cutting to the bone revealing the bare essentials of India's Financial Markets. Their viewing the system through the lens of Financial markets allows them to get rid of superfluous info. The book is in the tradition of TRADING & EXCHANGES by Larry Harris. Their tight packing of information laced with empirical research is worth reading, re reading, chewing and digesting. The mark of a truly lasting book is the fresh insights it provides every time you reopen it. In terms of economy of words and space this book reminds me of PHYSICS by Resnick & Halliday.  

Contents

Chapter 1 The Economy
1
Chapter 2 The Firms
33
Chapter 3 Private Equity and the IPO Market
45
Chapter 4 The Public Equity Market
55
Chapter 5 Government Bonds
81
Chapter 6 Corporate Bonds
95
Chapter 7 Commodity Futures Markets
113
Chapter 8 Real Estate
133
Chapter 10 Financial Firms
165
Chapter 11 Policy Issues
191
Chapter 12 What Can Global Financial Firms Do with India?
213
Appendix A Sources
219
Appendix B Abbreviations
221
Appendix C Interpreting Those Strange Indian Numbers
225
Bibliography
227
Index
231

Chapter 9 The Rupee
153

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Ajay Shah studied at IIT, Bombay and USC, Los Angeles. He has held positions at the Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (Bombay), Indira Gandhi Institute for Development Research (Bombay) and the Ministry of Finance. He is currently a Senior Fellow at the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy (NIPFP) in India. His research interests include policy issues on Indian economic growth, open economy macroeconomics, public finance, financial economics and pensions. In the past decade, he was extensively involved in the policy process in the reforms of the equity market and the New Pension System. His work can be accessed on the web at http://www.mayin.org/ajayshah

Susan Thomas is faculty at the Indira Gandhi Institute for Development Research in Bombay. Her research has been in financial econometrics, specifically on models of the volatility of financial prices, and aspects of market microstructure in Indian financial markets. She has also worked on models for the Indian zero coupon yield curve, govt. bond index construction and probability of default for Indian firms. Her work can be accessed on the web at http://www.igidr.ac.in/~susant.

Michael Gorham is Industry Professor and Director of the IIT Stuart Center for Financial Markets at the Stuart School of Business in the Illinois Institute of Technology. He serves on the board of directors for two exchanges - the CBOE Futures Exchange and the National Commodity and Derivatives Exchange of India. He also serves on the Business Conduct Committees of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange and the National Futures Association and the editorial boards of the GARP Risk Review and of Futures Industry magazine.

Bibliographic information