The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-century Politics with an 18th-century Brain

Front Cover
Viking, 2008 - Political Science - 292 pages
19 Reviews
In WhatÂ's the Matter with Kansas?, Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures weÂ've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain—and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another—or building a whole new narrative altogether—can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isnÂ't like changing your body—itÂ's the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1

Review: The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain

User Review  - Alex Lee - Goodreads

I was first introduced to George Lakoff through his work in 2nd language acquisition. His thoughts and work in that area was quite impressive, so when I ran across this book I was eager to look into ... Read full review

Review: The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain

User Review  - Greg Price - Goodreads

Well researched and reasoned, but I have a couple of gripes. First, as a Center-Left independent, I occasionally detect a streak of idiological zealotry in the author. As an example, he defines the ... Read full review

About the author (2008)

George Lakoff is Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Fellow at the Rockridge Institute, a think tank in Berkeley. He is author of DonÂ't Think of an Elephant!, Moral Politics, Whose Freedom?, and coauthor of Thinking Points: A ProgressiveÂ's Handbook, as well as many books and articles on cognitive science and linguistics.

Bibliographic information