God Among the Shakers: Search for Stillness & Faith at Sabbathday Lake

Front Cover
Hyperion, Mar 3, 1999 - Religion - 288 pages
2 Reviews
In the tradition of "Plain and Simple" and "The Cloister Walk", this book offers a rare, intimate account of one woman's journey into the world of the Shakers--a radical Christian sect whose belief in a Mother-Father God, equal rights for all, and direct interaction with the spirits of the dead shocked other established religious communities Print ads. NPR sponsorships .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: God Among the Shakers: A Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake

User Review  - Melissa - Goodreads

The voices of the remaining 8 Shakers in the world today were fascinating and thought provoking. They come across as truly beautiful, spiritual people. Skees was at her best when discussing the ... Read full review

Review: God Among the Shakers: Search for Stillness & Faith at Sabbathday Lake

User Review  - Joshua - Goodreads

I got on a Shaker binger, after watching a PBS documentary on them this past weekend. Read full review

Contents

Prologue i
1
Survival
15
Revolution
41
Copyright

4 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Skees holds a master's degree in world religions from Harvard University. She writes on women's spirituality and international religion for national publications.

Bibliographic information