The Denny and Dunipace Collection: A Collection of Compositions for the Great Highland Bagpipe, Volume 1

Front Cover
Denny & Dunipace
Trafford on Demand Pub, Nov 16, 2006 - Music - 100 pages
0 Reviews
A new collection of pipe music from a long-established pipe band based in the heart of Scotland's central belt, this first volume of tunes contains over one hundred previously unpublished compositions alongside a few previously published 'classics'. The vast majority of these tunes have been composed either by past or present members of Denny and Dunipace Pipe Band Association or in some cases by composers associated with the current members of the Association.
Tunes by long-established composers such as Roy Smith (Denny and Dunipace) and Charlie Glendinning (City of Washington Pipe Band) are included together with new compositions by Mark Sutherland, Colin Shearer, Fraser MacIntosh (Boghall and Bathgate Caledonia), John Cameron, Lorne Brown (Kilsyth Thistle Pipe Band), Gregor Colville, Hollis Easter and Sandy Johnston.
The Collection contains twenty-five jigs, eleven hornpipes, ten reels, nine strathspeys, nine slow airs and forty-four marches in assorted time signatures. That is, one hundred and eight tunes in total! Together with a brief history of the Denny and Dunipace Pipe Band Association and notes explaining the names behind the compositions this book will make an excellent addition to the music library of any piping enthusiast. All profits from the sale of this book will go to the work of Denny and Dunipace Pipe Band Association, Scottish charity number SC002801.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information