The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale Of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, And A Very Interesting Boy

Front Cover
Knopf, 2005 - Juvenile Fiction - 262 pages
72 Reviews
A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundelís sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundelís owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they willówonít they? One thingís for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
35
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amydelpo - LibraryThing

Love, love, love this book. Read it out loud to my kids -- ages 7 and 8. It's a book about ordinary kids. Models good sibling relationships. Excellent and interesting characters. Funny and fun. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PamelaBarrett - LibraryThing

Author, Jeanne Birdsall has written a book that brought back memories of all the books I read as a child, and she reminded me of why I love to read today. During the days I read about the Penderwicks ... Read full review

Contents

ONE A Boy at the Window
1
TWVK A Tunnel Through the Hedge
14
THREE The MOQPS
29
SIX Rabbits and a Long Ladder
67
EIGHT The Birrlulay Dinner
94
TEN A Bold Escape
124
ELEVEN 1l0hCT Rescue
145
TWELVE Sir Banlaby Patterne
155
THIRTEEN The Piano Lesson I 75
175
EOURTEEN A Midnight Arhwmure I 91
221
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband.†




From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information