Wilson: a consideration of the sources

Front Cover
Overlook Press, Sep 27, 2001 - Biography & Autobiography - 336 pages
3 Reviews
A challenging new novel by the Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright imagines a future in which the internet crashes and the past must be reconstructed from the memories of Ginger, wife of ex-President Woodrow Wilson.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - donlazaro - LibraryThing

HATS OFF GENTLEMEN!* DAVID MAMET IS A GENIUS!, The case can be made for this amazing(1) book with three little words: Huzzah for WILSON! Imagine you have been commissioned by the Misanthropological ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ashleypolikoff - LibraryThing

wow what an awesome idea for a book! "When the Internet-and the collective memory of the twenty-first century-crashes, the past is reassembled from the downloaded memories..." GREAT IDEA. the best ... Read full review


The Poem Itself
The Writers Mind

29 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

David Mamet, November 30, 1947 - David Mamet was born on November 30, 1947 in Flossmoor, Illinois. He attended Goddard College in Vermont and the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theater in New York. He began his career as an actor and a director, but soon turned to playwriting. He won acclaim in 1976 with three Off-Broadway plays, "The Duck Variations," "Sexual Perversity in Chicago" and "American Buffalo." His work became known for it's strong male characters and the description of the decline of morality in the world. In 1984, Mamet received the Pulitzer Prize in Literature for his play, "Glengarry Glen Ross." In 1981, before he received the Pulitzer, Mamet tried his hand at screenwriting. he started by adapting "The Postman Always Rings Twice," and then adapting his own "Glengarry Glen Ross" as well as writing "The Untouchables" and Wag the Dog." He also taught at Goddard College, Yale Drama School and New York University. Mamet won the Jefferson Award in 1974, the Obie Award in 1976 and 1983, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award in 1977 and 1984, the Outer Circle Award in 1978, the Society of West End Theater Award in 1983, The Pulitzer Prize in 1984, The Dramatists Guild Hall-Warriner Award in 1984, and American Academy Award in 1986 and a Tony Award in 1987. He is considered to be one of the greatest artists in his field.

Bibliographic information