Thraxas

Front Cover
Baen Books, Aug 26, 2003 - Fiction - 448 pages
12 Reviews
Key Selling Points- Combining action and humor, Thraxas will appeal to readers of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, Piers Anthony's Xanth series, Eric Flint's Philosophical Strangler novels, and Harry Turtledove's humorous fantasies, as well as anyone who thought that. The Lord of the Rings would have benefited from an occasional pie in the face.- The first Thraxas novel won the coveted World Fantasy Award and Thraxas' adventures are an international hit, having been published in France, Japan, Russia, the Netherlands, Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland. Now Americans can find out what they've been missing.- Martin Scott is the pseudonym under which Martin Millar writes his humorous fantasy adventures about Thraxas, the sybaritic overweight private eye and man of action in a fantasy world of elves, Orcs, and mean streets. Under his own name, he has written many highly praised mainstream novels.- The Guardian called his newest novel, Suzy, Led Zeppelin and Me, "brilliant, " and the London Times raved that it is one of the few "great rock novels." Millar has been compared to Kurt Vonnegut and Armistead Maupin, and The Edinburgh Times calls him "one of Britain's most gifted underground writers."

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1

Review: Thraxas (Thraxas #1)

User Review  - Jo - Goodreads

A charming fantasy book, written with great humour. now I need to by the next one Read full review

Review: Thraxas (Thraxas #1-2)

User Review  - Mathias - Goodreads

Whoever put the information on the book please put some information on the book there not just a wall of nothing intresting Read full review

About the author (2003)

Martin Scott is the pseudonym under which Martin Millar writes his humorous fantasy adventures about Thraxas the sybaritic overweight private eye and man of action in a fantasy world of elves, Orcs, and mean streets. There are six Thraxas novels in print, with a seventh soon to be published, and "The Guardian" has praised the series as ablindingly funny, deeply subversive, a while "SFX" calls Thraxas aa pulp fiction hero par excellence.a Martin Millar, under his own name, has written several mainstream novels, such as, "The Good Fairies of New York", "Love and Peace with Melody Paradise", and his newest novel, "Suzy, Led Zeppelin and Me", which "The Guardian" called abrillianta and the London "Times" praised as one of the few agreat rock novels.a Millar has been compared to Kurt Vonnegut and Armistead Maupin, and "The Edinburgh Times" calls him aone of Britain's most gifted underground writers.a Originally from Glasgow, Scotland, he lives in London, England in a flat filled with videos of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer".

Bibliographic information