The Royal Nonesuch: In which the Author, a Failure at Literature, Fails Likewise at Pornography, Founds a Corporate Branding Consultancy and a New Media Empire ...

Front Cover
Black Cat, 2007 - Biography & Autobiography - 374 pages
11 Reviews
Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise. Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend, Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. "Precisely what the company would do was somewhat beside the point," he writes. "We were friends who wanted to do something together. In other times or others circumstances we might have started a magazine, a social club, a religion, or a gang. It was the late 1990s, so we started an Internet company." The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's roller-coaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the fun house of the Internet during the boom. He builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. This is a remarkable book, a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1

Review: The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?

User Review  - Lauren - Goodreads

So I'll admit it - I judged this booked by it's cover, which at first blush has everything that Lauren would like: a Hollywood tale that drops names, ridicules Burning Man and is reviewed positively ... Read full review

Review: The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?

User Review  - Joe - Goodreads

A coming of age memoir that is both compelling and hilarious. for anyone who shuns the 9-5 world and thinks they can handle adulthood on their own terms. reminds me why my 20s were somewhat of a trainwreck. Read full review

About the author (2007)

Glasgow Phillips is a film and television writer in Los Angeles whose credits include South Park and Father of the Pride, as well as catastrophic pilots for Comedy Central and MTV. He is the author of Tuscaloosa: A Novel.

Bibliographic information