The investigation: oratorio in 11 cantos

Front Cover
M. Boyars, 1966 - Drama - 206 pages
7 Reviews
The Investigation is a dramatic re-construction of the Frankfurt War Crimes trials, based on the actual evidence given. This testimony concerning Auschwitz and the atrocities which were enacted there has been edited and extracted by Peter Weiss into a dramatic document that relies solely and completely on the facts for its effectiveness. There is no artistic license, no manipulation of facts and figures, no rearrangement of events for theatrical effect. Nameless witnesses stand and recall their appalling memories of Auschwitz, allowing us to bear witness to their painful and painstaking search for truth and, ultimately, justice. What emerges is a chastening and purging documentary of deeply moving power.
The Investigation was premiered on October 19th, 1965, in thirteen theatres in East and West Germany. At the same time, a produced reading was given under Peter Brook at the Aldwych Theatre in London. As with Peter Weiss' The Marot/Sade, productions have mushroomed throughout the world, effectively consolidating a remarkable literary reputation.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Investigation

User Review  - Charles - Goodreads

This play is life-changingly powerful. It does have horrifying scenes, but that's the point. Weiss offers an unflinching appraisal of the slaughter of millions of undesirables with this perfect ... Read full review

Review: The Investigation

User Review  - Jack Hadaway-weller - Goodreads

truly harrowing. Read full review


The Loading Ramp page
The Camp
The Swing

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1966)

Peter Weiss (1916-1982) was a German playwright, novelist, filmmaker, and painter. His works include the plays Marat/Sade and The New Trial (also published by Duke University Press) and the novels The Shadow of the Coachman's Body and The Conversation of the Three Walkers. West Germany's most important literary award, the Georg Buchner Prize, was awarded to Weiss posthumously in 1982.

Bibliographic information