Fire in the Ashes

Front Cover
E-Reads, Aug 1, 2007
5 Reviews
The year is 1999 and the world is a smoldering shell of its former self, ravaged by the tragic spoils of nuclear warfare. Amid the holocaust, there are survivors. Although few, there are enough to rebuild and enough to oppress others. Ben Raines was a mercenary, a soldier of fortune, but his fortune has taken a turn now that he is the only man alive capable of bringing together a band of rebels and creating a new America. But there is a fiendish force at work determined to quash their efforts and oppress their ideals of freedom and democracy. That force of evil is what's left of the U.S. Government. Raines knows that the only chance to keep liberty alive is to pick a fight and shed some blood. Just as America is on the brink of another civil war, a new unimaginable enemy rises from the ashes. Apocalyptic holocaust has never been so frighteningly and violently portrayed. Freedom still has a chance as long as there is ... Fire in the Ashes.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Fire in the Ashes (Ashes #2)

User Review  - Stephen - Goodreads

Excellent sequel to Out of the Ashes. It's been a few years since I went through these books, and I really enjoyed it. The deviant sex scenes were a little much, so if you are prudish or have a weak stomach walk away. Read full review

Review: Fire in the Ashes (Ashes #2)

User Review  - Perry Hurtt - Goodreads

Read this series many, many years ago and re-introduced myself to it again recently. Fun reading. Read full review

About the author (2007)

William W. Johnstone was born in Southern Missouri on October 28, 1938. He quit school when he was fifteen to join a carnival, but went back and finished high school in 1957. He worked as a deputy sheriff, spent time in the army, and then went into radio broadcasting, where he worked for sixteen years. He started writing in 1970, but was his first book, The Devil's Kiss, was not published until late 1979. He wrote over 200 books during his lifetime including the Ashes series, Code Name series, Mountain Man series, The First Mountain Man series, and Eagles series. Two of his books, Eagle Down and Dagger, were written under the pen name of William Mason. He died on February 8, 2004 at the age of 65.

Bibliographic information