In the Country of Hearts: Journeys in the Art of Medicine

Front Cover
Delacorte Press, 1990 - Poetry - 213 pages
0 Reviews
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks and Lewis Thomas comes this fascinating book of essays about the two hearts that beat in all of us--the literal one and its fraternal twin, the metaphorical heart.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

In the country of hearts: journeys in the art of medicine

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Stone, author of three volumes of poetry-- The Smell of Matches ( LJ 7/72), In All This Rain ( LJ 10/1/89), and Renaming the Streets ( LJ 12/1/85)--is also a teacher, cardiologist, and dean of ... Read full review

Contents

Introduction
3
Telltale Hands
21
From the Listening End of the Stethoscope
39
Copyright

9 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

John Stone is professor of sociology and Chairman of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at George Mason University. Stephen Mennell is professor of sociology and Chairman of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Monash University, Australia.

Bibliographic information