Magic Casement

Front Cover
E-Rights/E-Reads Limited, 2002 - Fiction - 340 pages
7 Reviews
MAN OF HIS WORD A princess and a stableboy? It sounds like the worst sort of hackneyed formula romance. Think again, for "A Man of His Word" may well be the most original fantasy you ever read. The magic is unique and applied in unexpected ways, some of which the late Lester del Rey admitted he had not met in fifty years as writer and editor. The world itself is unique - there are no humans in Pandemia, only imps, elves, gnomes, jotnar, and many more, all of whom you will recognize as "human." MAGIC CASEMENT In MAGIC CASEMENT the tale begins gently, even slowly, with Inosolan enjoying an idyllic childhood in her father's tiny backwater kingdom, too innocent even to understand that the feelings she shares with her friend Rap are more than friendship. Mystery, menace, and the gods appear in short order, and from then on the story grows in scope and power to straddle the world, and adversity thrusts rapid maturity on Rap and Inos. Populated by unforgettable characters - Aunt Kade, Little Chicken, Doctor Sagorn, and many more - Pandemia is an incredible world of credible people and infinite surprises.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Magic Casement (A Man of His Word #1)

User Review  - smjbab - Goodreads

One of the best fantasy series I have ever read. Great story, characters you fall in love with regardless of race religion or creed, can't put the book down. Each of the 4 books in the Man of His Word series is better than the last. Read full review

Review: Magic Casement (A Man of His Word #1)

User Review  - Pawel Olas - Goodreads

3.5 stars rounded to 4. A typical fantasy novel in which the reader learns the rules of the fantasy world together with a naive protagonist. Nothing extraordinary but a very enjoyable book nevertheless. Read full review

About the author (2002)

Dave Duncan was born in Scotland in 1933. He graduated from the University of St. Andrews in 1955 and moved to Canada. He worked for 31 years as a geologist in the petroleum industry. He started writing novels in 1984 and became a full-time author in 1986. He has written over 40 novels including the series The Seventh Sword, A Man of His Word, A Handful of Men, The King's Blades, The Great Game, Years of Longdirk, King's Daggers, and Seventh Sword. He has also written under the names Sarah B. Franklin and Ken Hood.

Bibliographic information