Carrie's War

Front Cover
Penguin UK, May 26, 2005 - Juvenile Fiction - 192 pages
23 Reviews

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.

Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted a whole generation of readers.

Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph

Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.

Now part of the A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime - series

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Review: Carrie's War

User Review  - ChattyNatty - Goodreads

This book was quite sad because carrie thought that she had killed all her friends. Read full review

Review: Carrie's War

User Review  - Esther Park - Goodreads

I found this book is really and Mysterious. Carrie ( who's the main character of this book ) I think she is really brave,positive, have a great Responsibility and nice maturity girl (for an her own ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

Nina died in 2012, aged 87.

Bibliographic information