Nights Below Station Street (Google eBook)

Front Cover
McClelland & Stewart, Sep 1, 2009 - Fiction - 172 pages
15 Reviews
David Adams Richardsí Governor Generalís Award-winning novel is a powerful tale of resignation and struggle, fierce loyalties and compassion. This book is the first in Richardsí acclaimed Miramichi trilogy. Set in a small mill town in northern New Brunswick, it draws us into the lives of a community of people who live there, including: Joe Walsh, isolated and strong in the face of a drinking problem; his wife, Rita, willing to believe the best about people; and their teenage daughter Adele, whose nature is rebellious and wise, and whose love for her father wars with her desire for independence. Richardsí unforgettable characters are linked together in conflict, and in articulate love and understanding. Their plight as human beings is one we share.

From the Hardcover edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Nights Below Station Street

User Review  - Zvi - Goodreads

Well written in omniscient third person; the characters are hemmed in by poverty and difficulty (and their own moment-to-moment mental and emotional issues). Not an easy or comfortable read. It also ... Read full review

Review: Nights Below Station Street

User Review  - Linda - Goodreads

Wonderful characterization! Read full review

Selected pages

About the author (2009)

David Adams Richards was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick, in 1950. He has published ten acclaimed novels, including the award-winning Miramichi trilogy Ė Nights Below Station Street, winner of the 1988 Governor Generalís Award; Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace (1990), winner of the Canadian Authors Association Award; and For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down (1993), winner of the Thomas Raddall Award Ė Hope in the Desperate Hour (1996), The Bay of Love and Sorrows (1998), and, most recently, Mercy Among the Children (2000), co-winner of the prestigious Giller Prize. In 1993, Richards received the Canada-Australia Prize.

Richards has also published three non-fiction books, most recently the Governor Generalís Award-winning fishing memoir Lines on the Water (1998), and has written Gemini Award-winning screenplays for the CBC-TV adaptations of his novels For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down and Nights Below Station Street. ďSmall Gifts,Ē his original screenplay for CBC-TV, won a Gemini Award and the New York International Film Festival Award for Best Script.

Richards now lives in Toronto with his wife, Peggy, and their two sons.

Bibliographic information