Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock 'n' Roll

Front Cover
Hal Leonard Corporation, 2002 - Music - 595 pages
4 Reviews
(Book). In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine "myth" in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the Reagan Revolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it's never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artists like the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert. Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe , Boston Phoenix , New York Press , Seattle Stranger , Lowell Sun , Wired , Reflex , Raygun , High Times , Seconds , Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

Sonic cool: the life & death of rock 'n' roll

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Harrington, music columnist for the Casco Bay Weekly in Portland, ME, sets out to document the entire history of rock'n'roll in the tradition of critics like Lester Bangs and Nick Tosches. While ... Read full review

Review: Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock'n'roll

User Review  - Bruce Kirby - Goodreads

The thinking person's guide to the history of rock n'roll, this book definitely has an edge to it. A sometimes cranky but honest guide to what was the most popular form of music over the last 50-60 years from a musical and anthropological point of view. Read full review

Contents

THE FIFTIES
1
WHERE THE MUSIC CAME FROM
13
ELVIS GOTTA GUN
31
KILL THE BUSINESS
59
THE BEATLES
97
THE ROLLING STONES
121
BOB DYLAN
141
THE REVOLUTION
155
THE STRUGGLE
235
EXCESS
257
DAYS OF MALAISE
293
PUNK
321
THE EIGHTIES
395
POSTEVERYTHING
453
NOTES FOR SONIC COOL
557
INDEX
563

THE BACK TO ROOTS REVIVAL
209

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2002)

Harrington has written for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, and more. He has also writtin for numerous fanzines.

Bibliographic information