Deleting the State: An Argument about Government

Front Cover
Open Court, 2008 - Philosophy - 129 pages
0 Reviews
This book, in the tradition of Robert Nozick's Anarchy, State, and Utopia, sheds new light on persistent philosophical questions about the nature and justification of political authority. Skoble's discussion draws upon law, economics, and game theory to examine limited-state and anarchist theories from the standpoint of liberty and human rights. It includes a careful elucidation, based on the analysis in F. A. Hayek's Constitution of Liberty, of the nature of coercion and the extent to which it can realistically be minimized. Skoble sets out the differences between libertarian and communitarian perspectives on the nature of society and the state, and, finally, compares the merits and demerits of violent and nonviolent strategies for political change.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Coercion State and Defense of Liberty
15
The Hobbesian Fear
39
Allaying the Hobbesian Fear
55
Copyright

2 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Aeon J. Skoble, associate professor of philosophy and chair of the philosophy department at Bridgewater State College, is coeditor of Woody Allen and Philosophy and The Simpsons and Philosophy: The D'oh! of Homer.

Bibliographic information